Quick Answer: Why Do I Have 2 IPhone Backups?

Do iPhone backups overwrite each other?

Both iTunes and iCloud will overwrite your existing backups and save only the latest data.

On your computer, you can create a backup, move or archive that backup and then create another backup.

If after a few days you don’t like it, simply put your pre-upgrade backup back in place and restore from it..

Do I need backups on my iPhone?

Many apps are connected to an online service, so separate backups aren’t really necessary. … iCloud may still back up some of the data these apps use — this can help ensure settings specific to that local app are preserved — but your important data will likely be synchronized with an online account.

How do I transfer all my stuff from one iPhone to another?

Transfer data directly from one iPhone to another. If your current iPhone and new iPhone are both using iOS 12.4 or later, you can use iPhone migration to transfer data directly from your previous device to your new one. You can do this wirelessly, or by connecting the devices together.

Where do deleted iPhone backups go?

Normally, the iTunes backup is saved to a fixed path on Windows computer. And you can follow this path to locate your iTunes backup folder: C:Users\USER\AppData\Roaming\Apple Computer\MobileSync\Backup.

How do I find old iPhone backups?

Click your device. In the Finder, under the General tab, click Manage Backups to see a list of your backups. From here, you can right-click on the backup that you want, then choose Show in Finder, or you can select Delete or Archive. In iTunes, choose Preferences, then click Devices.

Is it necessary to backup iPhone?

And when you get a new iPhone to replace your old one, there’s one important thing you’ll need: the backup file for your old phone with your data, photos, videos, messages and so on. … Unless you have a good reason not to, backing your phone up is just one of the mundane tasks you have to do as a functioning adult.

Will deleting old backup delete everything?

The short answer is no—deleting your old iPhone backup from iCloud is completely safe and won’t affect any of the data on your actual iPhone. In fact, even deleting the backup of your current iPhone won’t have any impact on what’s actually on your device.

How do I free up storage space on my iPhone?

10 Easy Ways To Free Up A Lot Of Space On Your iPhoneCheck your usage.Beware of apps’ internal downloads.Delete those unused games.Remove old podcasts and videos.Set your messages to automatically expire.Use Google+ or Dropbox for storing photos.Stop using Photo Stream.Only save HDR photos.More items…•

How long do iPhone backups last?

Apple clearly already has a scheduled process that checks backup age and deletes backups over 180 days old.

How do I restore multiple iPhone backups?

About the only thing you could do is restore from one of the backups and then use 3rd party software such as iPhone Backup Extractor to extract the additional data you want from the second one and sync this back to your phone.

What will I lose if I don’t backup my iPhone?

The backup does nothing to the firmware or iOS – a backup only contains data, not apps, not iOS. If you setup as new, rather than restore from backup, you will lose the following data: Application settings, preferences, and data, including documents. App Store Application data including in-app purchases.

Do photos stay on iCloud if deleted from iPhone?

According to Apple, deleted photos and videos will be stored in your account for 30 days (technically, they are moved to the Recently Deleted album). … Yes, those files disappear from your iCloud Photo Library after 30 days, no longer showing up in the Recently Deleted album either on synced devices or on icloud.com.

What happens if you don’t backup your iPhone?

After all, if you don’t back up regularly, you could lose essential and irreplaceable files. The same is true for your iPhone or iPad. … If you have a problem and need to restore your iOS device, it’s easy to do from an existing backup.

Can you restore from 2 different backups?

Currently, the option to restore two different back up files in one go is unavailable. Although you can do that one at a time. There will also a notification if you have the duplicate transaction every time you restore your file.

Why are there 2 backups on my iPhone?

By default, iCloud backs up all your iOS devices. If you set up a device as new, or your don’t restore from an iCloud backup, you can end up with multiple backups of the same data, which takes up a lot of space. Thankfully, they’re easy to remove. Now, you should have a little more space on iCloud.

Can I combine 2 iPhone backups?

Answer: A: You can’t merge iCloud backups. You could create a current backup of your phone, then restore the backup of your old phone to it and save any data you want to keep, the restore it again to the current backup.

Is it OK to delete a backup on iPhone?

You can delete old iCloud backups for the device you’re currently using, or older devices you may not use anymore.